Trackbacks: Will & Rishi -Modern Media and the BFC

Will,

I relate to your grievances regarding the opacity of news today. As Penn Staters we know first hand the proclivities of news corporations like MSN, CNN and NewsCorp to misrepresent and under-represent the true details of a story. More than anything though; what I’ve understood through all of this is that mass media is in a particularly powerful position to simply turn our attention away from important social and civic discourse, and toward just about anything else. For example; I think you would be hard pressed to find more than two out of any ten students on this campus who would be able to define each of the republican hopefuls stance on the war in Afgahnistan, though I’m sure at least nine of ten would know something about Mr. Gingrich’s marital history. It seems to me more and more that we are failing as a nation to inform ourselves of current issues -and in many ways are losing our ability to shape the future by doing so.

Rishi,

Fraternities are pretty cool. I don’t have much experience with any of the business fraternities, but I pledged a social one during my sophomore year. From my experience and discussions with friends of mine in the Greek system, the quality of your experience will be what you choose to make of it. I’ve known many guys who have been able to shape their communities for the better through their leadership, and many who are simply apathetic toward the conduct of the brothers around them. You’re a pretty upstanding guy though, and I know you’ll be a great influence in your pledge class, and will take advantage of every opportunity.

Hope to see you at the ice rink on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

