An experiment in self discipline

@font-face {
font-family: “Courier New”;
}@font-face {
font-family: “Wingdings”;
}@font-face {
font-family: “Cambria”;
}p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal { margin: 0in 0in 10pt; font-size: 12pt; font-family: “Times New Roman”; }a:link, span.MsoHyperlink { color: blue; text-decoration: underline; }a:visited, span.MsoHyperlinkFollowed { color: purple; text-decoration: underline; }p.MsoListParagraph, li.MsoListParagraph, div.MsoListParagraph { margin: 0in 0in 10pt 0.5in; font-size: 12pt; font-family: “Times New Roman”; }p.MsoListParagraphCxSpFirst, li.MsoListParagraphCxSpFirst, div.MsoListParagraphCxSpFirst { margin: 0in 0in 0.0001pt 0.5in; font-size: 12pt; font-family: “Times New Roman”; }p.MsoListParagraphCxSpMiddle, li.MsoListParagraphCxSpMiddle, div.MsoListParagraphCxSpMiddle { margin: 0in 0in 0.0001pt 0.5in; font-size: 12pt; font-family: “Times New Roman”; }p.MsoListParagraphCxSpLast, li.MsoListParagraphCxSpLast, div.MsoListParagraphCxSpLast { margin: 0in 0in 10pt 0.5in; font-size: 12pt; font-family: “Times New Roman”; }div.Section1 { page: Section1; }ol { margin-bottom: 0in; }ul { margin-bottom: 0in; }

This semester is an experiment in
self-discipline. As the last chapter of my college career arrives, it brings
with it exceptional freedom -at least compared to my last seven semesters.
Thanks to a reduced course load, I am using this semester to pursue my own
interests and teach myself self-discipline.

I have many aspirations for this
semester, but mostly I want to make personal development and intellectual
stimulation a daily ritual. I will do this by conditioning myself to read
faster, read more widely and refuse all distraction from my goals. In addition
to this, I will make creativity a priority by spending a minimum of 4 hours a
week either making music or drawing.

My goals (vaguely):

·     
Finish one book a week from a cycle of classics,
sociology, theology, and business.

·     
Finish one book in a foreign language.

·     
Wake up each weekday at 8am sharp, or earlier.

·     
Memorize 3 poems.

As I pursue this new strategy of
living, I will explore its effects through this blog.

To find out more about the strategy
I will use, I invite you to read this article.

 

 

Leave a Reply

