The thick of it.

I think that i an beginning to understand my limitations.

It’s 2am, and I’m reflecting on my week. I get bored when my peers complain to me of their burdens and numerous tasks that they face day after day, so I won’t bore you with the details of mine. But as a person who has built his college career around both doing things that he deeply enjoys, and doing others simply out of insecurity that he wasn’t working as hard as my peers, I would like to offer an observation and a question: is it worth it? I think that as a senior, I finally see that not all of it is.

I started to realize this over the summer, but the first few weeks of school, balancing a job, class and club duties, and probably most valuable to me, spending time with the people I care about, has made clear to me that I can not operate without the humility of rest. I don’t mean that I get angry and distracted, I mean that I can wake up in the morning, and accidentally fall back to sleep an hour later. it’s been hard to listen, but I think that I have come to the conclusion that it’s ok to not do everything, and that I can’t even if I try anyway.

So I ask this to any underclassmen who happen to stumble upon this post: why do you choose to participate in the activities which you do, and maybe even more importantly, what would you do with your time if you could have it back from all those trivial obligations?

My predictions for tomorrow’s game:

Penn State -31, Bama -24

…realistically:

Bama -45, Penn State -3

One thought on “The thick of it.

  1. JULIA V SCHRANK says:

    I just realized this recently. Fortunately for me, I’m still a sophomore.
    Let me start by saying that I’m taking a stupid number of credits and am in an equally dumb number of activities.
    I was bawling to my boyfriend the other day that I felt uninvolved and lazy with regards to my classes when he asked a great question: who am I doing this for? Why am I beating myself to a pulp such that, save for on Friday nights, I panic if my friends want to watch a movie?
    The answer was that I want ‘to look good.’ I want people to be impressed and to think that I can do it all.
    But the cost of this is a me that’s too worn out to have meaningful conversations with friends and family, and a me that doesn’t have any time to paint…and what kind of ‘me’ is that?
    I am very glad to see someone else who feels this way. How on earth do we get caught up in this over-achievement culture, anyway?

Leave a Reply

