Faith at State

0
false

18 pt
18 pt
0
0

false
false
false

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:12.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Cambria;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Cambria;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}

Interesting week here at State:

If you walked by the Hub on Monday or Tuesday, you surely
would have witnessed quite a sight. Standing off from either side of the free
speech zone on Pollock road were two very different groups: a fundamentalist
evangelical group, and the Penn State Atheist club. I’ve seen this sight many
times here on campus, and it’s usually a rotation of the same 3 groups of
people who show up to tell people about Christianity. I have no problem with
evangelism; I’ve even done it myself -though certainly not the same way that
these guys think they’re doing it. But this week was different, I found myself
losing patience very fast with this group, mostly because I could see how
alienated the crowd had become of evangelical Christians. By the second day, in
response to the evangelical group’s signs, the Atheists and the LGBTA had
decided to bring in their own as an effort to reduce the whole situation to
little more than a joke. Some of them were pretty funny too. I particularly
liked the one that read “Evolution: Bulbasaur à
Ivysaur à
Venusaur”.

But the reality is that at Penn State, I’m willing to bet
that to the majority of students here, is no more than something to mock.
Wednesday night I attended an atheist club meeting in the Thomas building. One
of my friends is writing a term paper on the group, as a Christian, and she
felt awkward going alone. To my surprise, I really liked everyone that I had
the chance to meet there. They were really cool, and not at all abrasive like I
was expecting. And I learned that night that for most of them, because of
Fire-and-Brimstone “preaching” or bad relationships with deist (not theist)
“Christians”, they see Christian faith as hypocritical.

I’m not sure what my opinion is on street preachers yet. I
will say that the Willard Preacher (the older, bearded one) isn’t the most
credible source though. If you are interested in credible Christian teaching
though, I invite you to check out any material from either here or here. Or the Bible; that’s probably a good place to start too (right?).

Leave a Reply

